Home | Natural gas | The significance of Russia and the CIS countries | Infrastructure
Established infrastructure
 
  Contact Deutsch  
In the last 35 years, pipeline infrastructure has been expanded considerably for delivering gas from Central Asia to other CIS countries and from Russia to Western Europe. Russia is already importing gas from Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan and Kazakhstan, and these imports could increase to 100 BCM a year by ten years' time.

As far as Russian exports to Western Europe are concerned, whereas just four countries were supplied with 7 BCM of gas overall in 1973, a full 140 BCM was exported to 19 countries 30 years later. Central Asian gas made up 7.4 BCM of this total, and this volume is likely to increase in the years ahead.

Delivering these volumes requires a very large amount of pipeline capacity. The CIS countries play an important transit role in this trade, with the majority of Russian gas exports to the West passing through the Ukraine. Some pipelines take a more southerly route via Moldova to Southeast Europe and Turkey, and others make their way through Hungary to the Balkan states. In 1999, the Yamal Pipeline began transporting gas through Belarus to Poland and Germany, providing an alternative to the route through the Ukraine. There is also a gas pipeline which passes via St Petersburg into Finland. Another major pipeline - the Blue Stream, which crosses the Black Sea to Turkey - opened in 2002 and set a new record with underwater pipes laid 2 km below the surface. Transport capacity will be increased further by the planned North European Pipeline, running from Vyborg in northwest Russia via the Baltic Sea to Germany, with extensions pencilled in to the UK and potentially Sweden and Denmark as well.

 
 
 Further information 
 
Pipelines from Russia to Europe >>
 
 
Pipelines from Siberia to Europe >>
 
 
 
 
Top | Back 
© Centrex Europe Energy & Gas AG 18.10.2017Legal Notice

Home | Erdgas | Die Bedeutung Russlands und der GUS-Staaten | Infrastruktur
Ausgebaute Infrastruktur
 
  Kontakt English | Русский  
Über die vergangenen 35 Jahre wurde die Pipeline-Infrastruktur von Zentralasien in die übrigen GUS-Staaten sowie von Russland nach Westeuropa erheblich ausgebaut. Russland führt bereits heute Erdgas aus Turkmenistan, Usbekistan und Kasachstan ein. In einem Jahrzehnt dürften diese Importe ein Gesamtvolumen von 100 Mrd. m3 pro Jahr erreichen.

Was die russischen Erdgasexporte nach Westeuropa betrifft, so wurden 1973 7 Mrd. m3 in nur vier Staaten geliefert. 30 Jahre später betrug das Volumen 140 Mrd. m3, die in 19 Länder exportiert wurden. Davon entfielen 7,4 Mrd. m3 auf Erdgas aus Zentralasien, und dieser Anteil dürfte in den kommenden Jahren zunehmen.

Der Transport solcher Erdgasmengen erfordert umfangreiche Pipeline-Kapazitäten. Auch dabei kommt den GUS-Staaten als Transitländer eine zentrale Rolle zu: Zum überwiegenden Teil gelangt das russische Erdgas via Ukraine in den Westen. Einige Pipelines verlaufen südlicher durch Moldova nach Südosteuropa und in die Türkei, andere durch Ungarn in die Balkanstaaten. Als Alternative zur ukrainischen Route wurde 1999 die Yamal Pipeline durch Belarus nach Polen und Deutschland in Betrieb genommen. Zudem existiert eine Pipeline, die Erdgas via St. Petersburg nach Finnland transportiert. Seit 2002 verläuft eine weitere Route durch das Schwarze Meer in die Türkei: Die Blue Stream Pipeline setzte mit einem Verlauf von 2000 Metern unter dem Meeresspiegel einen neuen Rekord. Die geplante North European Pipeline von Vyborg im Nordwesten Russlands via Ostsee nach Deutschland sowie voraussichtlich nach Großbritannien und eventuell auch nach Schweden und Dänemark wird die Kapazität nochmals erhöhen.

 
 
 Weitere Informationen 
 
Pipelines von Russland nach Europa >>
 
 
Pipelines von Sibirien nach Europa >>
 
 
 
 
Top | Back 
© Centrex Europe Energy & Gas AG 27.11.2014Rechtlicher Hinweis